Chevy SSR Forum Chevy SSR Forum
Google Links

» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
» Wheel & Tire Center

Sponsors


Go Back   Chevy SSR Forum > SSR Discussion > SSR Technical Discussion
Register Home Forums Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

   
SSRFanatic.com is the premier SSR Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2006, 05:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member

JTSSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WEST PALM BEACH, FL
Posts: 82


My SSR:
2006 REDLINE RED FPR
View JTSSR's Photo Gallery
Gas Saver Or Scam??

Has anyone installed either of these gadgets?

velocity tuner
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/SAVE-...10595845QQrdZ1

performance module
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2005-...09294074QQrdZ1

I have heard of the module helping on other cars but would like to hear if anyone has had first hand experience with these gadgets that they say improve performance and increase gas mileage.

Joe
JTSSR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2006, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 31


My SSR:
Silver '04
View fjungman's Photo Gallery
Can you say fraud?

Complete and total scams.

To spare you the details, the first one could cost you an engine.
The second one only wastes the money you pay and the time for putting it on.
fjungman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 06:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ron
Senior Member

Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 235


My SSR:
'05 Smokin' Asphalt 1SB
View Ron's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by fjungman
Complete and total scams.

To spare you the details, the first one could cost you an engine.
The second one only wastes the money you pay and the time for putting it on.

#1 - SCAM
#2 - SCAM, SCAM
Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 07:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member

Charlie®'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Belleville, MI
Posts: 207


My SSR:
2003 Slingshot Yellow
View Charlie®'s Photo Gallery
Looks like snake oil to me.




Charlie®
Charlie® is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 09:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
SSR Pit Crew
Supporting Member

pikeville904's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pikeville, TN
Posts: 2,158


My SSR:
Aqua Blur '05,#18006, Diablo Preditor, K&N, Spoiler,
View pikeville904's Photo Gallery
Scam...

Anything that is that cheep, and would save the kind of money they say it will would already be on the vehicle, don't ya think??? If it sounds too good to be true, 'probably is......
pikeville904 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 09:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member

TucsonSSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tucson, Arizona.
Posts: 92


My SSR:
Yet to purchase... I'm jonesing!
View TucsonSSR's Photo Gallery
scams

The 'turbulator' or finned product's idea is based upon the idea of spinning air traveling farther, faster, and easier. They prey upon inexperienced folks thinking that the air coming out of this gizmo is like a turbo. Wrong-o. Rip-off. BS. All this thing does is cause some turbulence. At the MOST it is detrimental. To get the most performance you need to control the air's path through proper porting and testing with an air flow bench. Introducing turbulence to the air at the intake is a bunch of BS.

The programmer 'chip' they sell is like everyone else's where they say they trick the computer into retiming itself and adjusting the fuel mixture by making the computer think it's intake charge is colder than it is. This thing is also a bunch of BS and isn't worth the 10 minutes it takes to order it and install it.

Save your money and take your girlfriend out for a beer and burger. Now THAT could pay off!

Jeff
Tucson, AZ
TucsonSSR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Chevy SSR Forum > SSR Discussion > SSR Technical Discussion





Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.0 RC2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
  • AutoForums.com
  • Truck
  • European
  • Import
  • Domestic
  • Manufacturer

AutoForums.com is the premier network of enthusiast-owned enthusiast-operated automotive communities.
We operate more than 100 automotive forums where our users consult peers for shopping information and advice, and share experiences and opinions as a community.

Visit AutoForums.com today.

For advertising information, please visit our AutoForums.com website and Contact Us, or send an email message to sales@autoforums.com.