Oil Pressure - Chevy SSR Forum
Chevy SSR Forum Chevy SSR Forum


» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Chevy SSR Forum > SSR Discussion > SSR Technical Discussion


SsrFanatic.com is the premier Chevrolet SSR Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2013, 09:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Channahon, SW of Chicago
Posts: 337


View KNIGJIM's Photo Gallery
Oil Pressure

My gauge is always to the far right reading 80. Is this a sensor issue.
KNIGJIM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2013, 09:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Dicktator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater, Fl
Posts: 6,794


My SSR:
04 Silver w/skunk stripes Dyno @ 128mph, 4.10 gears, Magnaflow, K&N, port/polished throttle
View Dicktator's Photo Gallery
My guess, Stepper Motor.

Cluster has 5 stepper motors.

What year is your R?

03/04 early 05 had lot of bad stepper motors.

Dicktator
__________________
Dicktator is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2013, 09:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Channahon, SW of Chicago
Posts: 337


View KNIGJIM's Photo Gallery
It is a late 04
KNIGJIM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2013, 09:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Channahon, SW of Chicago
Posts: 337


View KNIGJIM's Photo Gallery
I was told if it drops back to zero then it is the sensor is that coorect.
KNIGJIM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2013, 07:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
A Little BIG JIM
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
BIG JIM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 3,053


My SSR:
2005 Aqua Blur Automatic
View BIG JIM's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by KNIGJIM View Post
My gauge is always to the far right reading 80. Is this a sensor issue.
Just after Sturbridge on the way home I now have the same problem when I start up all gauges go through a start up peg right then left and finally settle down except for the oil it goes back to pegged to 80 psi and never moves till I turn off the truck.
__________________
I'd rather be crusin...
BIG JIM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2013, 11:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Kruser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 276


My SSR:
2005 RedLine Red 6-Speed w/ 4.56 and PCM of PA Tune, purchased new July 4th, 2005
View Kruser's Photo Gallery
Had the same issue last week with my 05... Typically a failed sender unit will show FULL. SCALE...$40 at Autozone and an easy change out. You will need a 1-1/16th deep socket and a ratchet wrench. Connector is a clip on so just release with your fingers and it will snap right back on
__________________
KruseR
05-6 Spd
What Else? RED
Kruser is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2013, 02:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
SSR Pit Crew
Supporting Member
 
shakemyhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 696


My SSR:
04 Redline, 456 Gears, Street tune, Flowmaster 50, Eibachs, and lots of Mike in AZ's goodies.
View shakemyhand's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by KNIGJIM View Post
I was told if it drops back to zero then it is the sensor is that coorect.
I just went through this with my Jeep last week. The needle never moved off of zero. The first sensor was bought at Auto Zone and never changed a thing, it still sat on zero. I went to the Jeep forum and some of the guys were saying that the aftermarket senders won't work and if they do, they don't last. So, I went to the dealership and bought one, and what do you know, now it works like a champ. The guy in the Parts Dept. told me that the aftermarket senders don't send the electrical current that the OEM's do. All I know is that it works great.
shakemyhand is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2013, 04:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Channahon, SW of Chicago
Posts: 337


View KNIGJIM's Photo Gallery
Do you have the auto zone part number

Last edited by KNIGJIM; 07-30-2013 at 04:37 AM. Reason: Typo
KNIGJIM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2013, 08:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
MnMsToy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Posts: 8,713


View MnMsToy's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by shakemyhand View Post
I just went through this with my Jeep last week. The needle never moved off of zero. The first sensor was bought at Auto Zone and never changed a thing, it still sat on zero. I went to the Jeep forum and some of the guys were saying that the aftermarket senders won't work and if they do, they don't last. So, I went to the dealership and bought one, and what do you know, now it works like a champ. The guy in the Parts Dept. told me that the aftermarket senders don't send the electrical current that the OEM's do. All I know is that it works great.
Been there done that if possible go OEM.
MnMsToy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-02-2013, 03:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
A Little BIG JIM
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
BIG JIM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 3,053


My SSR:
2005 Aqua Blur Automatic
View BIG JIM's Photo Gallery
Fixed!

Back from Mr. Good-wrench today well after $188.50 and 3 1/2 hours my oil pressure sensor is replaced and reads correct now. Part #12616646 ($86.24) I am happy again.
__________________
I'd rather be crusin...
BIG JIM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2014, 03:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Donaldo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Houston NW side
Posts: 355


My SSR:
05 Slvr born 11-19-04, Flowmaster Cats, Borla Dual Exh, K&N Filter, Vette servo, custom tune, lowrd.
View Donaldo7's Photo Gallery
I just noticed mine and it's reading pegged at 80, even with the engine not running but the ignition on. Thanks for the info on this site. This is great, you have a problem, you do a little search and, Poof, your questions are answered.
Donaldo7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2014, 03:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 379


View birdmans's Photo Gallery
If $188 for a $40 gauge makes you happy then I am happy for you. Remember we have a link to a dealer who does cost plus 10 percent. My local dealer does the same for me, [as] he knows what goes on on the net. There are times when this old man pays the dealer's hourly rate of $80+. I think I can still un-screw an oil sensor? Birdmans
birdmans is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2014, 05:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
SSR Enthusiast
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Bca8ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Austin Tx. Area
Posts: 1,101


My SSR:
05, MagnaCharged, LEP Cam, Headers/Duals, 410 Gears, Pioneer Nav, Simple Engineering Goodies
View Bca8ball's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG JIM View Post
Back from Mr. Good-wrench today well after $188.50 and 3 1/2 hours my oil pressure sensor is replaced and reads correct now. Part #12616646 ($86.24) I am happy again.
Jim,
First, thanks for the information and posting the part number for others. The following is in no means derogatory towards you, just additional information for other as well.

Everyone that knows me, knows how much I dislike the business practices of some dealership service departments. Stories like yours is why; they could have made good money/profit at half this price and shown you what they did for you...win/win.
I am happy that you got your R fixed and I realized sometimes things are worth the money just to get it solved and oil pressure is nothing to take lightly.... unfortunately, some places just don't know when enough is enough and/or capitalize knowing you have minimal options.

Keep in mind they charged you the full minimum service charge (probably an hour at $80 to $100 an hour) and the full list price for the part (which is over 100% markup over their price). The actual sensor change takes 10 minutes (seriously) add another 5 minutes if they actually tested power to the connector first (but I doubt it).

Again, glad you got it fix but you may want to keep this in mind for this shop.

David
Attached Thumbnails
Oil Pressure-oil.jpg  

Last edited by Bca8ball; 02-22-2014 at 06:13 PM.
Bca8ball is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Chevy SSR Forum > SSR Discussion > SSR Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy SSR Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:19 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2