Roof & Windows not operating - Chevy SSR Forum
 10Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2017, 03:54 PM Thread Starter
Miami Florida SSR Fanatic
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
OctagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami Beach, Florida
Posts: 218


My SSR:
2005 Silver SSR & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
Garage
Unhappy Roof & Windows not operating

Greeting Fanatics!

Hope someone out there can give me some help. I've been searching the Forum, but have not found any post with a similar situation.

Neither my Windows nor my Roof are operating in my 2005 Auto . The last time I drove the R, about two months ago, it all was working fine. Now both Windows fail to go down, or index when I open or close the doors. The roof also fails to operate at all! I'm getting a message of "Roof Ajar" when I'm driving and of course the persistent chime.

I've inspected the relevant fuses and switched the circuit breakers around. Manually unlatched the Roof, cracked it open and manually closed it again. Disconnected the battery at the engine bay in hopes of resetting the Roof Module, but I don't know if this cuts power to this module.

I'm suspecting a bad Roof Door Module, but this is only an assumption and not based in any facts. Can anyone tell me if this module controls the Roof and the Windows?

Help would be greatly appreciated!
MicDonna likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
25,000 Miles
OctagonMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2017, 04:47 PM
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
HOT-SSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 108


My SSR:
04 Slingshot Yellow
Mine did the same thing!! We resolved this problem by switching around the two silver fuses that are behind the passenger seat. Not sure why this worked; but the body roof and door reset and started working!! Maybe you can try this solution!

Good Luck
HOT-SSR
Larry Jones
HOT-SSR is offline  
post #3 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2017, 05:16 PM
Private SSR Investigator
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Cash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kamloops, British Columbia
Posts: 12,141


My SSR:
"Kate" a Haughty Redhead, '06 Redline FPR 6 spd. #23333 Build Date 2/16/06
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by HOT-SSR View Post
Mine did the same thing!! We resolved this problem by switching around the two silver fuses that are behind the passenger seat. Not sure why this worked; but the body roof and door reset and started working!! Maybe you can try this solution!

Good Luck
HOT-SSR
Larry Jones
Well, that's the first thing I would have done!
You guys are nuts! - Good nuts mind you!
Ask Fuji - he will have you take a hammer out on something!

Hope you get it sorted out!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Such are the Vagaries of Life"
Ah, I'm Just Truckin' With Ya!
Cash is offline  
 
post #4 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2017, 06:10 PM
SSR Pit Crew
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Hilliard Ohio
Posts: 344


My SSR:
04 Redline #9973
In answer to your question
Yes power windows and roof are controlled by Roof door module. RDM receives power from fuse #28 in rear fuse box - be sure to check for fuse with voltmeter or test light -- should have voltage or a test light when connected to good ground on both side of fuse. RDM is grounded at G301 -- you need to check that also
Does anything else not work - door locks, exterior lighting etc? NO - check 125 amp fuse underhood fuse box
If fuse #28 tests good and all else works // Next best step would be to check for communication with a scan tool to RDM
SandMountianMan likes this.
autoprof is offline  
post #5 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2017, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Miami Florida SSR Fanatic
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
OctagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami Beach, Florida
Posts: 218


My SSR:
2005 Silver SSR & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by HOT-SSR View Post
Mine did the same thing!! We resolved this problem by switching around the two silver fuses that are behind the passenger seat. Not sure why this worked; but the body roof and door reset and started working!! Maybe you can try this solution!

Good Luck
HOT-SSR
Larry Jones
Thank You!

Had tried this before my posting, but after reading your post I tried it again, this time leaving the Circuit Breakers unplugged for 10 minutes; unfortunately this did not resolve the problem for me


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
25,000 Miles
OctagonMan is offline  
post #6 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2017, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
Miami Florida SSR Fanatic
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
OctagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami Beach, Florida
Posts: 218


My SSR:
2005 Silver SSR & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cash View Post
Well, that's the first thing I would have done!
You guys are nuts! - Good nuts mind you!
Ask Fuji - he will have you take a hammer out on something!

Hope you get it sorted out!
Cash, Thank you for the humor and the good wishes


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
25,000 Miles
OctagonMan is offline  
post #7 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2017, 09:03 PM
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Boynton Beach Fl
Posts: 738


My SSR:
2005 Aqua Blur #15813
To get your problem fixed, you and CeCe need to come to Jacksonville for the rally Thursday to Sunday.
Cigars and Aguadiente will probly get your problem solved.
Bob
CruDawg likes this.
BSTPAPA is online now  
post #8 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 06:57 AM Thread Starter
Miami Florida SSR Fanatic
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
OctagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami Beach, Florida
Posts: 218


My SSR:
2005 Silver SSR & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by autoprof View Post
In answer to your question
Yes power windows and roof are controlled by Roof door module. RDM receives power from fuse #28 in rear fuse box - be sure to check for fuse with voltmeter or test light -- should have voltage or a test light when connected to good ground on both side of fuse. RDM is grounded at G301 -- you need to check that also
Does anything else not work - door locks, exterior lighting etc? NO - check 125 amp fuse underhood fuse box
If fuse #28 tests good and all else works // Next best step would be to check for communication with a scan tool to RDM
Thank you autoprof

Now that I know that the RDM controls both the Windows and the Roof, i'm guessing the problem got to do with the RDM or its peripherals. Everything else aside from the Roof and Windows is operating just fine. I had check Fuse 28 but not for power; following your suggestion, I checked for power at both ends of the fuse and both ends have power.

Forgive my ignorance, but I have no idea where to find G301.

Under-hood 125 amp main fuse is good.

I'll be researching a Scan Tool to buy, any suggestions?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
25,000 Miles
OctagonMan is offline  
post #9 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 07:21 AM
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Dicktator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater, Fl
Posts: 9,491


My SSR:
04 Silver/Race Stripes 4:10 gears tuned at 130mph lowered 2"
Don't know where to find G301?

How about SSR How to Library, what a thought. SSR Grounds.

https://onedrive.live.com/?id=3EF39D...F39D9F5ADCE5E5

Should be first place to look but seems to always be the last place to look.

RDM (Roof Door Module) should be called RDWM for Roof Door WINDOW Module.

They are available from Dealer, not very reliable according to my Chevy Tech.

About $300. rebuilt, have to turn in your RDM and they give you rebuilt one, just plug it in.

Located in Big Black Box in roof compartment. ON How to Library.

03/04 RDM will not work on 05/06 SSR. Order right one.

Dicktator


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dicktator is offline  
post #10 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 08:12 AM
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
ED in FL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Trinity, Florida
Posts: 426


My SSR:
05 Red, White & Blue Patriotic "R".
Since you are getting the Ding-Ding alarm, the 125 amp fuse is good.
(The 125 amp fuse feeds the Rear Fuse Box, the Amplifier powers the DING-DING, so the RFB has power.)
To temporally stop the Ding-Ding pull the 25 amp Amplifier fuse in the Rear Fuse Box. (05/06 "R"s only)
I have a spare 05/06 RDM and can bring it to Jacksonville this week.
I will be there about 5pm Thursday.
PM me with your phone number if you want the RDM.
ED in FL is offline  
post #11 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 08:38 AM Thread Starter
Miami Florida SSR Fanatic
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
OctagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami Beach, Florida
Posts: 218


My SSR:
2005 Silver SSR & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSTPAPA View Post
To get your problem fixed, you and CeCe need to come to Jacksonville for the rally Thursday to Sunday.
Cigars and Aguadiente will probly get your problem solved.
Bob
Papa!!!

I was hoping to go one of the days and crash the party! I was particularly thinking of going to the Tech Session

Unfortunately, I can't take the weekend for the complete enchilada...
BSTPAPA likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
25,000 Miles
OctagonMan is offline  
post #12 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 10:53 AM Thread Starter
Miami Florida SSR Fanatic
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
OctagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami Beach, Florida
Posts: 218


My SSR:
2005 Silver SSR & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicktator View Post
Don't know where to find G301?

How about SSR How to Library, what a thought. SSR Grounds.

https://onedrive.live.com/?id=3EF39D...F39D9F5ADCE5E5

Should be first place to look but seems to always be the last place to look.

RDM (Roof Door Module) should be called RDWM for Roof Door WINDOW Module.

They are available from Dealer, not very reliable according to my Chevy Tech.

About $300. rebuilt, have to turn in your RDM and they give you rebuilt one, just plug it in.

Located in Big Black Box in roof compartment. ON How to Library.

03/04 RDM will not work on 05/06 SSR. Order right one.

Dicktator
Thank you Dicktator!!!

You're the Best of the Best!

The first thing I did when I encounter the problem, was to go into the "How to Library" you gifted our community with. But I did fail to go back to it, when looking for the ground location; I did that now and I don't have a ground problem.

Best regards to you and Kathy.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
25,000 Miles
OctagonMan is offline  
post #13 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 02:19 PM
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Boynton Beach Fl
Posts: 738


My SSR:
2005 Aqua Blur #15813
Half an enchilada is better than none
BSTPAPA is online now  
post #14 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Miami Florida SSR Fanatic
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
OctagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami Beach, Florida
Posts: 218


My SSR:
2005 Silver SSR & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED in FL View Post
Since you are getting the Ding-Ding alarm, the 125 amp fuse is good.
(The 125 amp fuse feeds the Rear Fuse Box, the Amplifier powers the DING-DING, so the RFB has power.)
To temporally stop the Ding-Ding pull the 25 amp Amplifier fuse in the Rear Fuse Box. (05/06 "R"s only)
I have a spare 05/06 RDM and can bring it to Jacksonville this week.
I will be there about 5pm Thursday.
PM me with your phone number if you want the RDM.
Thank you for the insight Ed!

Removing the 25 amp Amplifier fuse has made the R driveable without going Nuts

My R is covered under an extended warranty that will cover the RDM replacement. Just the same I might be interested in buying your RDM, so i can get the Roof and Windows to work, until I have a chance to take it to the dealer. It behooves me to have an extra RDM as I own 2 R's. Let me analyse how much work it takes to replace the RDM, as I will have to install the defective one again before I take it to the Dealer.

Ed, how can I make sure that I have an RDM failure?

Thank you Sir Ed


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
25,000 Miles
OctagonMan is offline  
post #15 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 05:43 AM
SSR Pit Crew
Supporting Member
 
carlbush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Atlantic Beach, FL
Posts: 440


My SSR:
2005 Ricochet Silver
Garage
There is an RDM, currently for sale on eBay, from a 2006 SSR ... the ad includes a video of the top working before they parted it out.
link: Convertible-Folding-Roof-Top-Control-Module-Chevy-SSR-2005-06

Good luck getting the problem corrected!
Carl
carlbush is offline  
post #16 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 08:02 AM
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
ED in FL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Trinity, Florida
Posts: 426


My SSR:
05 Red, White & Blue Patriotic "R".
Quote:
Originally Posted by OctagonMan View Post
Thank you for the insight Ed!

Removing the 25 amp Amplifier fuse has made the R driveable without going Nuts

My R is covered under an extended warranty that will cover the RDM replacement. Just the same I might be interested in buying your RDM, so i can get the Roof and Windows to work, until I have a chance to take it to the dealer. It behooves me to have an extra RDM as I own 2 R's. Let me analyse how much work it takes to replace the RDM, as I will have to install the defective one again before I take it to the Dealer.

Ed, how can I make sure that I have an RDM failure?

Thank you Sir Ed
We can install the replacement RDM & test your roof.
(the replacement RDM has been tested & works fine)
ED in FL is offline  
post #17 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 09:37 AM Thread Starter
Miami Florida SSR Fanatic
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
OctagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami Beach, Florida
Posts: 218


My SSR:
2005 Silver SSR & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlbush View Post
There is an RDM, currently for sale on eBay, from a 2006 SSR ... the ad includes a video of the top working before they parted it out.
link: Convertible-Folding-Roof-Top-Control-Module-Chevy-SSR-2005-06

Good luck getting the problem corrected!
Carl
Thank you carlbush!

I'm amazed they are dismantling what seems to be a Good SSR for parts

GMPartsDirec.com sells a brand new RDM with warranty for $267.53 Control Module for 2005 Chevrolet SSR|15828426 : GM Parts Direct: Your direct source for Genuine GM Parts


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
25,000 Miles
OctagonMan is offline  
post #18 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
Miami Florida SSR Fanatic
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
OctagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami Beach, Florida
Posts: 218


My SSR:
2005 Silver SSR & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
Garage
From the Dicktator

Looking trough the Forum I found a thread where the Dicktator writes about the RDM functions:

"Controls windows indexing, up/down and your A/C, yes A/C. If you start blowing warm air, RDM."

Top and windows inop?

So if the RDM controls the AC, and my AC is working properly, then I supose I do not have a bad RDM


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
25,000 Miles
OctagonMan is offline  
post #19 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:46 AM
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
ED in FL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Trinity, Florida
Posts: 426


My SSR:
05 Red, White & Blue Patriotic "R".
Quote:
Originally Posted by OctagonMan View Post
Looking trough the Forum I found a thread where the Dicktator writes about the RDM functions:

"Controls windows indexing, up/down and your A/C, yes A/C. If you start blowing warm air, RDM."

Top and windows inop?

So if the RDM controls the AC, and my AC is working properly, then I supose I do not have a bad RDM
The RDM does not control the A/C!
The HVAC module controls the A/C.!
ED in FL is offline  
post #20 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-21-2017, 09:08 AM Thread Starter
Miami Florida SSR Fanatic
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
OctagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami Beach, Florida
Posts: 218


My SSR:
2005 Silver SSR & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by OctagonMan View Post
Looking trough the Forum I found a thread where the Dicktator writes about the RDM functions:

"Controls windows indexing, up/down and your A/C, yes A/C. If you start blowing warm air, RDM."

Top and windows inop?

So if the RDM controls the AC, and my AC is working properly, then I supose I do not have a bad RDM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED in FL View Post
The RDM does not control the A/C!
The HVAC module controls the A/C.!
Ed, when I remove the power to the RDM the A/C compressor fails to kick in, once I power the the RDM the compressor comes in again; what is the correlation?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
25,000 Miles
OctagonMan is offline  
post #21 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-21-2017, 09:16 AM Thread Starter
Miami Florida SSR Fanatic
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
OctagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami Beach, Florida
Posts: 218


My SSR:
2005 Silver SSR & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
Garage
New Symptom

I'm experiencing another symptom: The rear hatch fails to open sometimes, regardless of using the remote or the release inside the Glove Box. Then I try it later and it works. This has happened already 3 times.

I'm almost ready to take the car to the dealer, but I want to gain as much insight as possible before I do, as we know the dealers are not to savvy when it comes to our roadsters. Thank God the owner of the dealer that I would use, owns an SSR and supposedly he has a couple of mechanics trained to service the SSR.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
25,000 Miles
OctagonMan is offline  
post #22 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-21-2017, 10:37 AM
Cantankerous SSR CaretakR
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
river_rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 1,604


My SSR:
2005 Slingshot Yellow (O-YLR)
If you are hearing the cargo cover release solenoid actuate each time, but the cargo cover is not releasing, then it is probably the release cables that need adjusting. If you are not hearing the solenoid each time, then it may be the solenoid (known failure item), possibly the relay (less likely) or the wiring/connectors. The solenoid is located inside a housing under the fender behind the driver's side rear wheel. See Dicktator's repair procedure site for more info on the cargo cover solenoid. (Bed Cable Adjustment, Bed Release Actuator)

That being said, the RDM controls the cargo cover release.... I think you have some definite electrical issues occurring directly related to the RDM........
autoprof likes this.
river_rat is offline  
post #23 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-21-2017, 11:38 AM
SSR Pit Crew
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Hilliard Ohio
Posts: 344


My SSR:
04 Redline #9973
Octagon Man
The AC and rear compartment release are tied into the RDM.
The AC request signal is sent from the HVAC module though the Evap temp sensor to the RDM. The RDM then uses this input and broadcasts a message on the class 2 data line to the other modules for AC operation request.
See the attached diagrams -- I circled the RDM in both diagrams.

I also found in the power top description and operation that says "AC is OFF" before power top operation- explains why the AC request signal is sent to the RDM. But I could swear that I put my top down before with the AC on? I going to have to purposely try it both ways now! (checked service manual for 04 and 06 both say the same.) Just because it is written - it doesn't make it true!

The RDM seems unique to most automotive modules - Most use low current inputs and then control outputs by turning on and off a relay. The RDM does this and more. Besides all the input sensors and data it operates the Roof pump relay, the cargo cover relay AND it directly operates (controls) the higher current circuits for the window motors and the top latch actuator.

The fact the rear compartment works at times and the AC compressor works would lead me to believe the RDM can perform SOME functions and must not be totally dead. I believe it is capable of transmitting data (AC operation) but cannot operate higher current outputs - window motor and top latch actuator. Might be resistance in the high current power feed (or ground) connections/wiring to RDM. Could still be a bad RDM.
Because you have another SSR there -- try removing only the circuit breaker for the Roof Door (circuit breaker #1) on good SSR. Note what works and what doesn't - AC, cargo release, window, roof.- see if it is similar. I am going to have to try this too!

Again scan tool (check RDM for codes) and voltage drop testing to RDM would be next step for me because I have access to Tech 2.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AC request wiring.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	105.3 KB
ID:	408210   Click image for larger version

Name:	AC off description.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	25.9 KB
ID:	408218   Click image for larger version

Name:	rear comparment release.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	105.4 KB
ID:	408226  
mikebike likes this.
autoprof is offline  
post #24 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-22-2017, 03:56 PM
SSR Pit Crew
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Hilliard Ohio
Posts: 344


My SSR:
04 Redline #9973
OK, so one more mistake in service manual.
Top operated fine with or without AC.

I wonder if AC actually does run through RDM. I am going to bring Tech 2 home from school next weekend and see if AC request shows up as input to RDM, as mentioned in manual.

AC also worked with RDM fuse pulled and Roof circuit breaker pulled but cargo release did not work with either one pulled. So if cargo release works RDM is doing something sometimes.

Sorry I can't help more?
autoprof is offline  
post #25 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-22-2017, 05:31 PM
one of the SoCal Nuts
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
BlueStreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 23,257


My SSR:
#23198 06Blue 3SS #375/532-BOD 12/21/05, got it 9/5/06 & #21474 #29/532-BOD 8/24/05, got it 12/1/15
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by autoprof View Post
OK, so one more mistake in service manual.
Top operated fine with or without AC.

I wonder if AC actually does run through RDM. I am going to bring Tech 2 home from school next weekend and see if AC request shows up as input to RDM, as mentioned in manual.

AC also worked with RDM fuse pulled and Roof circuit breaker pulled but cargo release did not work with either one pulled. So if cargo release works RDM is doing something sometimes.

Sorry I can't help more?
I thinks at some point the engineers may have thought the A/C should be off when the top is down. I know that is not the way it works but may have been part of the design and never got corrected in the schematic.
Kent likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Therapy is Expensive Wind is Cheap
One of the Blues Brothers
BlueStreak is offline  
post #26 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-25-2017, 04:52 PM
Cantankerous SSR CaretakR
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
river_rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 1,604


My SSR:
2005 Slingshot Yellow (O-YLR)
The 05-06 RDM monitors the "AC Request" signal as an input. It does not appear to do anything with that signal. It has no outputs related to AC function. The roof will cycle whether the AC is on or off. It does not turn off the AC during roof operation, nor appear to affect the AC regardless of whether the roof is up or down.

Can't comment on a 03-04 RDM, as I don't have a test subject for clinical trials.....
SSReplay likes this.
river_rat is offline  
post #27 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-25-2017, 05:43 PM
SSR Pit Crew
Supporting Member
 
Texasbaehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 531


My SSR:
2004 Slingshot Yellow
Garage
The roof cycling or position has no affect on A/C operation or vice versa on my 04.
Greg
Texasbaehr is offline  
post #28 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-26-2017, 02:44 PM
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Dicktator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater, Fl
Posts: 9,491


My SSR:
04 Silver/Race Stripes 4:10 gears tuned at 130mph lowered 2"
A/C, roof, bed light, and much more goes thru rear fuse box behind passengers seat.

A/C can run or not run during roof operation to the best of my knowledge.

RDM also controls windows.

Bed Release has actuator that goes bad.

See SSR How to Library: https://onedrive.live.com/?id=3EF39D...F39D9F5ADCE5E5

Your Roof? Personally I think the cylinders are leaking. Roof cover unlatches and won't open, open manually and see what is happening. Bet floor is wet with oil, every time you push roof button more oil pours out until there is not enough left in system to unlatch roof.

Dicktator


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dicktator is offline  
post #29 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-26-2017, 07:40 PM
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
ED in FL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Trinity, Florida
Posts: 426


My SSR:
05 Red, White & Blue Patriotic "R".
You have an extended warranty
Take the "R" to a dealership and have them fix it.
ED in FL is offline  
post #30 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-04-2017, 04:39 PM Thread Starter
Miami Florida SSR Fanatic
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
OctagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami Beach, Florida
Posts: 218


My SSR:
2005 Silver SSR & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
Garage
Sorry for my Absence!

Hello there Fanatics! Sorry for my absence

I got tangled up with work and personal commitments, and could not get back to the forum.

I'll be acknowledging all the good insight you guys have posted lately


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
25,000 Miles
OctagonMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Chevy SSR Forum > SSR Discussion > SSR Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy SSR Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome