My SSR: '05 Concept Truck, powered by Heavy Duty rubberbands, and a really BIG WINDUP KEY!
Malware Warning
Been awhile since I've seen it, but trying to access the Fanatic forum this morning and I was first shuttled to a page that warned me of MalWare, from this site.
Warning: Something's Not Right Here! Chevy SSR Forum contains malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site.
Google has found malicious software may be installed onto your computer if you proceed. If you've visited this site in the past or you trust this site, it's possible that it has just recently been compromised by a hacker. You should not proceed, and perhaps try again tomorrow or go somewhere else.
We have already notified Chevy SSR Forum that we found malware on the site. For more about the problems found on Chevy SSR Forum, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page.
If you understand that visiting this site may harm your computer, proceed anyway.
Help improve detection of malware by sending additional data to Google about sites on which you see this warning. This data will be handled in accordance with the Safe Browsing privacy policies.
Hmmm
__________________
If I've said something to offend you, please let me know, so I can say it again, later.
My SSR: Ricochet Silver built 11-8-04, #17696. K&N, headers, Flowmaster,Trifecta Tuned, Phoenixed Tranny
i have AVG and had one pop up too
mostly when you click on the thumbnails and then enlarge them on the Laughlin pics
and did it for a friend showing him the pics
something is up
My SSR: Maybellene 2006 SSR Auto #23699 SMOKIN'ASPHALT/RICOCHET SILVER Build Date: 03/02/2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttarob
Hmmm no message here on the apple stuff
Hello,
I have IE9
Firefox
Safari
and Avant Browser open
Only Sarfari brings up the warning.
With no way to disable it.
__________________ Mike - mikebike in Surrey BC Canada Licence plate MY SSR
2006 SSR Auto SMOKIN'ASPHALT/RICOCHET SILVER
Build Date: 03/02/2006 My SSR Photos
This will pretty much eliminate the ad banners. I also nullify a lot of the web tracking services. I know there are more, but these are rampant on this site:
127.0.0.1 b.scorecardresearch.com
127.0.0.1 beacon.scorecardresearch.com
127.0.0.1 www .google-analytics.com (take the space out)
127.0.0.1 api.vigilink.com
127.0.0.1 cdn.vigilink.com
127.0.0.1 partner.googleadservices.com
I just got the warning with Firefox. That's even with all of the other stuff... but it's because it's a firefox "service", not because it detected anything attacking my computer directly.
Location: Titusville Florida - 10 miles from Kennedy Space Center
Posts: 88
My SSR: 2006 Black FPR
Warning! If you did not get a warning!
For all of you that didn't get the warning I respectfully suggest you review your security product very closely.
For many of us, with an effective security product, CONFIGURED CORRECTLY, a warning was given. If you didn't get a warning, you should have!
Then ask yourself why you didn't!
The issue is either the product you are using or how you have configured the product!
Fix the problem before damage is done to your system.
Before anyone panics.... these warnings from the browser itself (either Firefox or Chrome) are not an anti-virus/anti-malware alert. There is no browser out there that has built in malware or anti-virus protection. What it is though, is an alert based on a database the browser accesses that has registered this site as containing malware. It's simply an alert.
However, the advice to make sure your other protections are up to date is very sage and relevant... even with current software, I have still had malware whack my machine (just back in December in fact).
As I mentioned before, Autoforums ad servers have been hit repeatedly. Since I'm preventing the browser from actually reaching them, I don't get alerts from my AV software.
Before anyone panics.... these warnings from the browser itself (either Firefox or Chrome) are not an anti-virus/anti-malware alert. There is no browser out there that has built in malware or anti-virus protection. What it is though, is an alert based on a database the browser accesses that has registered this site as containing malware. It's simply an alert.
However, the advice to make sure your other protections are up to date is very sage and relevant... even with current software, I have still had malware whack my machine (just back in December in fact).
As I mentioned before, Autoforums ad servers have been hit repeatedly. Since I'm preventing the browser from actually reaching them, I don't get alerts from my AV software.
Thanks for the information ssr71. By any chance do you know if Ad Muncher will prevent the issues with the ad servers? I have used Ad Muncher for years because I hate ads. Here is the link to there site: Ad Blocker: Ad Muncher
Thanks for the information ssr71. By any chance do you know if Ad Muncher will prevent the issues with the ad servers? I have used Ad Muncher for years because I hate ads. Here is the link to there site: Ad Blocker: Ad Muncher
I don't know.... when I got hit back in December, I would have thought the AV software could have stopped the loading of the malware... but it didnt. Instead, the malware got on and completely disabled the AV software. Now, that instance... was somehow connected with an attachment on another site I was visiting, so neither my simplistic protection nor the ad muncher software would have done anything.... but the AV software never had a chance.
The AutoGuide.com network consists of the largest network of enthusiast-owned enthusiast-operated automotive communities.
AutoGuide.com provides the latest car reviews, auto show coverage, new car prices, and automotive news. The AutoGuide network operates more than 100 automotive forums where our users consult peers for shopping information and advice, and share opinions as a community.