LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 65 (permalink) Old 12-05-2018, 11:45 PM Thread Starter
SSR Pit Crew
Lifetime Supporting Member

My SSR:
Silver on Black TVS2300 supercharged FPR 6 speed 4:10 #23387
Garage
LS2 rebuild and upgrades

I decided to start this thread in the hopes that someone else who knows very little about engines and mechanical undertakings might not be discouraged at the prospects of a major project. I will add links to useful information as I progress, and acknowledge the great Fanatics who helped me get through this.

I need to quit driving my SSR in September. Last year I damaged the supercharger, and had to ship it back to Magnuson for a rebuild. I'm not a mechanic, so I was quite pleased that I was able to get through the original install unscathed. I found the removal and reinstall much easier the second time around.

I had been having an ongoing issue with a sometimes mild, sometimes significant stumble around 5200 rpm. After sending Joe Delano multiple scans with no obvious solution for the stumble, he asked me to do another scan, starting at 3000 rpm in second gear, then holding the gas pedal to the floor till I was over 6000 rpm. I had never done that before, so I went from a holy $hit moment during the acceleration, to an OH Crap moment when the unfamiliar noises started.

I was going through a lot of thoughts in my head, including upper management being most unhappy with me, as I slowed down, looking for the nearest opportunity to get away from a highway with steep drop offs, and concrete barriers that kept me from pulling over.

When I reached a safe spot, I hit the space bar to stop the scan so I could save it. Apparently, when my head was spinning after the engine let go, I had already hit the space bar. When I hit it the second time, I lost all the information regarding the most significant car related event I've been through. I don't think I reached 6600 before shifting to 3rd, but I'll never know for sure what happened.