Chevy SSR Forum banner

Thinking about buying a SSR...need advice

10K views 48 replies 30 participants last post by  1racingnut 
#1 ·
I am thinking about buying an SSR. Can anyone tell me what common issues if any these trucks have.
I am a retired mechanic / collision repair tech so I know what to look for in that regard. Is a 6.0 significantly better that a 5.3? Any year better? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank You!

#2 · (Edited)
Hoo-Boy... You'll likely get a boat load of comments here. Crusty old blue haired know-it-alls love to spout off about their favorite toys.

If the extra 90 hp and bragging rights are important to you, then yes, an '05 or '06 (6.0) is the way to go. That said, an '03 or '04 (5.3) can easily be made to perform quite well.

'05's and '06's seem to have more "gremlins" to deal with.

Bottom line... SSR's are like sex. It's all good, some is just better than others.

Enjoy your search and welcome to the fold.

#4 ·
LS2 6.0 (~400 hp)
- Only way to have a factory installed Manual 6 Speed Transmission.
- Only way to get a factory painted Aqua Blur, Pac Blue or factory Two Tone

Vortec 5.3 (~300 hp)
- Only Automatic Trans (4 Speed)
- Only way to get a factory painted Ultra Violet

Welcome to the forum...hopefully we will soon be saying...
Welcome to the family!!!

#5 ·
:agree Better chance of wrinkles being ironed out here.

If you want a stick then that rules out '03 and '04, automatic any year.
The smaller engine in the '03 and '04 is 100 hp less than the later LS-2 but it still has 300 hp and probably 30 0r 40 more with a good tune and a couple tweeks. So unless you're street racing or hot dogging, it has plenty of git-up-'n-went for merging and passing.
Generally most anything that might go wrong, the smart guys here have figured out a fix. Mike in AZ started Simple Engineering to provide parts specifically tailored to any shortcomings.