Chevy SSR Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
undefinedHello! I just subscribed to this forum. I've been visiting it for the past 4 months but didn't feel priveleged to subscribe until I paid the dues of SSR ownership. Yesterday I placed my order for a 2005 Slingshot Yellow ISB, Running Boards, Accessory Gauge Package SSR. This is after having spent last weekend with a demonstrator 2004 Slingshot Yellow one which I drove over 200 miles. As soon as I got it home I washed it with the Mr. Clean AutoDry system and detailed it myself...great way to check for water leaks and quality control of fit and finish...perfecto I might add. I drove a red one before Easter and the yellow one a few weeks ago. The dilema was to go for the '04 or for the '05. The SSR marketing manager at Chevrolet, a fellow named Bob, spent 30 minutes on the phone with me last Monday and I decided to go for the '05. He said that the dealer could order me one now. The '04s will be still produced until the end of the 3rd week of August. The steering has been revamped, the exhaust system modified to remove the roar in the cockpit between 1500 & 1800 rpm, and of course the 405 ft/lbs of torque with the 390 hp 6.0 LS-2 engine made all the difference. My son told me to hold out solely for the MP3 player on the '05 radio. All the improvements he discussed were areas of concern from living with the vehicle over the weekend. Off the line a Dodge diesel blew me away. Cruising at 40 mph was noisy at times, and slow speed and parking steering was stiff. Price hike about $500 over '04. The dealer is selling me the '05 for get this.........$217 over factory invoice! By the way, my 2003 PT Cruiser GT Turbo with the Stage 1 upgrade (240 hp) at 3200 lbs may be an '04 SSR beater. ROB KERN
1957 300C Chrysler Hardtop, 2002 Escalade, 2002 Ford Thunderbird, 2003 PT Cruiser GT Turbo Stage 1, 2003 Buick Park Avenue Ultra, and soon 2005 SSR

·
Administrator
8,205 Posts
Congrats!