Chevy SSR Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2004 SSR
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. First and foremost, what a great site!! I'm a newbie here, but have spent quite a bit of time looking around over the past few weeks. I recently purchased a very low mileage 2004 SSR from a neighbor and unfortunately the SSR and I aren't seeing eye to eye yet. The second time I started it up, it was hard to start, but started. As it was idling I pushed the throttle and it stammered and stumbled. If you pushed the accelerator quickly you could hear a gasp of air and then no power. It popped a CEL and it came back to PO171 and 174. After this, it also started to run slightly rough.

The next day when I went to start it, it would only crank, no start. Upon turning the key, it wants to turn over at first and sounds like it, but then just continues to crank. I replaced the fuel filter, cleaned the MAF, but then swapped in a new MAF, checked all under hood fuses. I can hear the fuel pump prime and also confirmed fuel at the fuel rail (but did not check pressure yet). I also cleaned the throttle body and it looks like possibly someone had been in there, as the butterfly looked very scratched for the vehicle's miles. Also, it may be nothing, but to me, when the accelerator pedal is pushed, the throttle body is noisy.

I wanted to seek some guidance here before going any further..

Thanks and I can't wait to start utilizing the tips and tricks provided within the site!

Bobby

·
Premium Member
May 2017 ROTM 2005 Redline Red .
6,599 Posts
First off Welcome from a So Cal Fanatic.
Second, someone with more knowledge than me will be along and provide some info on the issue you are having.
Good luck and keep us posted on your progress as it may help us all in the future.

·
Premium Member
2005 Chevrolet SSR manual transmission
876 Posts