Chevy SSR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I was curious if anyone was familiar with wiring for DRLs on an 06 SSR. I was thinking that I may try to change them from running off of the low beams and make them run on the front turn signals instead. Any ideas?

·
Premium Member
2,872 Posts
I have toyed with the idea of connecting them to the fog lights.
I studied the wiring diagram and determined a way to make this work. However, it would require bypassing the DRL module and splicing into the factory harness just in front of the fuse box. I don't like screwing with the factory harness So I decided to skip it for now. I have many other things to keep me occupied.
FOR EXAMPLE

I am going to try to see if an idea I recently thought about to operate the two front power outlets (not the lighter outlet!) so that they would be key power and not constant power will work. My goal is to accomplish this in a non-intrusive way -- plug and play. Truck is in storage so I will not be able to test my theory until Spring. If successful I will post instructions here.

·
Georgia SSRers
1,008 Posts
Hey everyone, I was curious if anyone was familiar with wiring for DRLs on an 06 SSR. I was thinking that I may try to change them from running off of the low beams and make them run on the front turn signals instead. Any ideas?
NOT an 06 but both my 04s have LEDs wired to the parking lights.
I would think the parking lights would be the same on all years.
BTY the lights have 3 wires but you only use 2.
Just pulled the lights and hooked to the wires .
Works as DRL and is VERY easy to hook up.
hooked up 6 strip LEDs.
NOW my Rs resemble high dollar Cadillacs or Lambos !

·
Georgia SSRers
1,008 Posts
Pix

You KNOW we need to see pictures now Fred.
OH MY, what we do for our brother fanatics.
I didn't have any decent pictures of my LEDs so I JUST went out in the COLD garage and got you some. (33 degrees now)