·
Premium Member
2003 SSR
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hood Motor vehicle Electrical wiring Automotive tire Bumper

Hood Automotive lighting Vehicle Automotive tire Helmet

Hello all.

I’m no mechanic, but I do turn some wrenches when needed on the easy to medium technical tasks.

Doing my oil change and adding simple engineering heat sheild for ABS and shifter fix, I came across part that has me scratching my head.

I’m front of the radiator and low win the fascia. Just inside of the bumper frame is the part in question.
It looks like a long this radiator or some sort of heat exchanger. But, I’m not sure what it’s connected to.

The reason I ask is I’ve owned my ‘03 R for about a year and I’m doing some rust repair as I go.

This part is so rusted, I’m afraid it is going to fall apart soon.

I’ve attached some photos hoping that you folks can help me identify the part and possible solution for replacement.

Thank you
-Ken in Texas.

·
Premium Member
2006 Black over Silver
60 Posts
I'm not sure from the pictures but it looks like an external Transmission Cooler. It's mounted in front of the radiator near the front grill, and it looks like cooling fines. I have a stick so I'm guessing but lot times that were they install them. Someone else will chime in with Automatic will know for sure.

·
Premium Member
2003 SSR
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was thinking it might be, it just seems small and the lines are coming in from the driver’s side. If it’s a trans cooler, I’m gonna get an aftermarket unit, once I can verify the fluid routing.
Thank you. I’m still researching.

·
Premium Member
2006 S/C Silver & 2006 S/C Pac Blue 6spd
1,713 Posts
I was thinking it might be, it just seems small and the lines are coming in from the driver’s side. If it’s a trans cooler, I’m gonna get an aftermarket unit, once I can verify the fluid routing.
Thank you. I’m still researching.