Chevy SSR Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Super Moderator
14,052 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I get so many PM's from guys that struggle with their computer and the site.
Most of us are in the 60/70 age group, and many of the Fanatics are not computer geniuses
I include myself - almost everything I know about computers I attribute to my time on SSRFanatic over the past 10 years.

For me, as a former realtor, I knew how to do everything regarding my documents etc and I am pretty good at negotiating SSRFanatic.
But, what gets weird is when I visit another auto forum - I find it hard to negotiate, so I commiserate with our members that have a problem with SSRFanatic

My advice on that is, just keep going - it will become more clear over time!

Something I wanted to mention about computers and to a lot of you that are not that computer savvy.
Mine was lagging - I would hit post, wait and impatiently hit post again
My impatience resulted in posting twice and I had to delete one - my computer was running way too slow.

Heat in the CPU is often the problem
If you don't have it, download "Speccy" - it will show an overview of your computer
My CPU was operating in the "Red Zone"

My office has hardwood floors, so a lot of dust bunnies find their way into the computer fans
I decided to move the CPU onto my desk to help resolve that issue
I took the side panel off - didn't look too bad, but I (carefully) vacuumed it out.
I also cleaned all the dust off my desk that accumulates easily
After I had the desk cleanup done I figured I should take my brother's advice and use a "low volume" air compressor on it, making sure to keep a finger on the fan blades to keep them from spinning too fast.
What I thought was clean was far from it! Had to do another clean on the desk

As a result of the cleanup, the heat in my CPU went from red zone to green
For the rest of you guys that didn't grow up in the computer era, every once in a while, give your computer a blow.