Chevy SSR Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
How are dealers treating those of you looking?

I took an 05 for a ride last week. It was like pulling teeth. I am an airline pilot with one of the few profitable carriers (frieght) and a business owner and these guys wanted me to agree to agree to purchase the car BEFORE I test drove it. I should not say these guys but rather one of the managers. I handed them a business card from both of my jobs so they would know I wasn't trying to get a free ride or something. He said sorry. I told him that I was looking at an 04 for $32,000 from an out of state dealer and really wanted an 05. My plan was drive an 05 and an 04 (they did not have an 04) and decide how much more an 05 was worth to me. He told me sorry, they did not want to put the miles on it. Fortunately, one of the other managers had traded his Vette in on an 05 and tossed me the keys. I am in love with it. Problem is I have not driven an 04 and this first manager started giving me the BS that yes, the sticker was 48,500 but really it was 61.000 and the best he could do was 45,000. He went in to the whole don't worry about the cost difference between the 05 and the 04 but what the payment would be thing. I laughed at him and left. How on earth are they going to sell these bad ass trucks/cars with that attitude? I can go to any BMW or Porsche lot and take a test drive with no problem. But with a 200 day supply of SSR's. they are locking them down at Fort Knox. Anyone with an 05 manual out there have any advice for a guy torn between an 05 for 13 grand more than 04. I am buying one, its just a matter of which year and what price, the SSR rocked.

Steve

·
West Coast Pit Crew
10,185 Posts
Shop till you drop

Hey Steve