Chevy SSR Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Supercharged "Flaming Yellow Tweety"
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My mechanic says it's a PITA to change out the plugs on my supercharged 05 ssr.
Anybody else had a problem replacing plugs?

·
Spirited driver!
1,544 Posts
From what I have read here, he is not wrong. There have been a few discussions about it and the trick is to at one of them from underneath and have the right swivel tools from what I can gather. I'm sure some that have done it will be along with details shortly.

·
SSR Believer
1,699 Posts
I've been changing plugs and wires in cars and trucks for more than 50 years. Won't lie, compared to "normal" vehicles it's a PIA, especially if it's never been done before. The two biggest challenges I had were pulling the wires; every single one was absolutely glued to each plug and literally had to be ripped out in pieces and second, getting the plugs themselves out because they were close to frozen in place. The issue is that there's very little room for leverage. So other than that... :rolleyes:

@PokerGuy is referring to getting at the #1 plug. It's the first one, front of the engine on the driver side. I did it from the top, but I can see where it might be easier to get at it from underneath. I've got less than 1K miles on 10K mile plugs so it'll be a while before I can confirm that.

So, it can be done if you've a mind to. ;)

That said, I know if I did it today it would be much, much easier because it has new wires and anti-seize on the plug threads. So if everything's original, give yourself plenty of time, keep a few band aids handy and be sure that you're working where the kids and wife can't hear you. :) Here's a link to the details of my experience. Enjoy!