Chevy SSR Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have looked for performance parts for my 2004 SSR on a number of sites. Some claim that changing the Mass Air Sensor will gain about 5 HP. Does anyone have experiance with this and is it worth the $250.00?

Smokin Asphalt 2004
Sailor:nodno

·
Premium Member
2006 Aqua Blur 22578
1,436 Posts
Sailor said:
I have looked for performance parts for my 2004 SSR on a number of sites. Some claim that changing the Mass Air Sensor will gain about 5 HP. Does anyone have experiance with this and is it worth the $250.00?

Smokin Asphalt 2004
Sailor:nodno
I'm not a performance expert by any stretch, but I think a lot of these advertised HP claims have the placebo effect....gee I just spent 250 bucks...sure it feels faster. I really doubt you could feel 5 HP one way or the other even if it worked.:)
The same can be said about MPG enhancing devices...we want to think it works...we spent our money for it....just human psychology at work.

·
Premium Member
3,926 Posts
Sailor - The gains from the new MAF are very small and the new MAF is very hard to tune as compared to your stock MAF. The best thing you can do with your MAF is to just descreen it and it will improve as much as the $250.00 aftermarket MAF's. I did a thread in the tech section about 6 months ago about descreening the MAF, trimming the PCV adapter and changing the air filter. Do a search and it will give some good information for you.

·
Registered
133 Posts
2005SSR6Speed said:
Sailor - The gains from the new MAF are very small and the new MAF is very hard to tune as compared to your stock MAF. The best thing you can do with your MAF is to just descreen it and it will improve as much as the $250.00 aftermarket MAF's. I did a thread in the tech section about 6 months ago about descreening the MAF, trimming the PCV adapter and changing the air filter. Do a search and it will give some good information for you.