Chevy SSR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
705 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have never stored a vehicle for winter months (never cared about a car this much, to think that I was going to sell the thing...).

Please let me know what you think:

1- I have it in an attached garage (temp won't go below 36) and will be covered with an indoor cover (plush)

2- I changed the insurance coverage to have total loss, theft and vandalism ONLY. this brought down my rate to $50 every 6 months from $400. All I have to do is to give them a call and tell them I want to drive it again. I can even leave a message on voice-mail.

My questions:

1- Do I have to do anything special like start it up once a day or disconnect something to help maintain it properly?

2- Am I nuts for storing this car since it won't be a limited car and should just enjoy it on good days of winter? Thought this may help resale and I hate salt...

D

·
0 Posts
redssrloaded, I've been storing cars for 30 years with no problems, here's what I would suggest.

1. Fresh tank of high grade gas, also check all your fluids to make sure there at there proper level.

2. You should have your SSR clean and dry ( top to bottom )before you cover it.

3. Get a Battery Tender to connect to the battery, this is much better then any trickle charger. I'll find you the link to the best place to buy one from and post it later.

4. Inflate the tires to about ten pounds over factory specs, if you want to place safety stands under the rear axle and front lower control you can but with todays tires it's not necessary.

There's no need to start the SSR until you're ready to drive it in the spring.

Al

N

·
0 Posts
redssrloaded said:

2- Am I nuts for storing this car since it won't be a limited car and should just enjoy it on good days of winter? Thought this may help resale and I hate salt...