Chevy SSR Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well, this is my first try to see what this community can do....
2 things,....... one, took the SSR to get new tires on it today, (All 4, same size as the originals)....watched them put them on, when I got back in the car and left I noticed the Speedo had stopped working, stopped at a parking lot, restarted the car speedo needle does the flop around bit like all the other gauge needles do but then goes to below zero. and does not even quiver while driving.. I KNOW that it was working just before I pulled into the lot of the store because I noted to my wife that we were doing 50 in a 35 zone... so, my question would be does the speedo drive off of a wheel? or did it just pick this time to die? and What do I do with it now?
second thing.... when goosed up to around 4000RPM (and I do not mean stomp on and hold the pedal) it makes a funny buzzing rattly sound. After driving it the 3 times I have, it smells like burning rubber. (NO, not the tires and was there before tires were changed) checked the alt belt, it was hot but not loose. OK Fanatics. help me diagnose the problems

Jay:blue:

·
Supporting SSR Hobbyist
10,072 Posts
Wow, Jay.......

Let's separate the problems a bit.....

The speedo not working is coincidental to the tire change. All of the gauges are mechanically moved by individual small stepper motors. It's about the size of 3 quarters stacked up. Soldered into a circuit board and the indicating pointer is on a very small pivot driven by the motor. There are 5 of them on the board..... one under each pointer. All SSRs built before about May of 2005 are in the suspect population. I'm sure yours is in the group... There is no rhyme or reason for failure of the motor..... they just stop being what they should be.