Chevy SSR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I just purchased a 2005 SSR with 78000 miles from a dealer up north and when I first start it up it has a loud engine noise for about the first 10 minutes. I have read this is normal but when the whether just got a little cooler here I noticed its quite a bit louder and I find it hard to believe this is acceptable to other owners. I was a Cadillac GM Tech for 28 years and retired in 2004 but in all the years I was in the business I never heard a knock like this that was normal. I haven't changed the oil yet but I was told by the Chevrolet dealer I purchased it from said they changed the oil with a synthetic blend recommended by GM and I do see a Delco oil filter on it. The local dealer I brought it to said its not worth tearing it down because they may not even find anything on it and all the 5.3's and 6.0 have this.

Any advise?

·
Premium Member
'06 FPR Smokin Asphalt; '04 Ulta Violet
4,234 Posts
Nick, From another Nick, I don't think it is normal, but can't give more advise. I'm sure others will! Meantime----Welcome from Forney Texas!!!-----Go to "Tools" in the red banner, click on "User CP" go to "Your Profile" then click "Edit Your Details". Then, whenever you "post" it will show in the left column under your name and we will know where you are and what you drive. Then if you have a problem, someone close by might be able to help out.

Nick

·
Registered
331 Posts
Hi Nick -

Welcome to the Forum from North Texas.

I have a :yellow: '06 with 67K miles on it and I don't have engine noise when I first start. I wouldn't think this is normal. Something else, as I read your post - Chevy dealer did an oil change with synthetic blend recommended - Mobile One is the preferred oil and it is a full synthetic and not a blend.

Just my .02 cents and it won't even buy a cup of coffee.

Greg

Hello,