Chevy SSR Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,755 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
The little yellow truck that changed my life. It started in January 2004 back when we had news papers. I see an ad where a local dealer had 3 in stock, asphalt, redline, and slingshot. My buddy who worked for GM at the time said wait until you see what is coming out. There they were at dealer with 3. I grab the wife and say let's go see these trucks. I get there, just to look, black in the show room, the yellow and red out front. Lots of people. Salesman jumped on me and I told him I just wanted to see the trucks. He asked which one do you want to drive? Told him there is no way as a poor school teacher I could afford that, they wanted 10 over sticker. He asked again which would you like to drive? I said the little yellow one.
Off we go on the drive. First thing I notice is the nice v-8 rumble, sending the happy shiver through my body. On the drive I pull over to play with the top and we had a crowd on the street watching us. The rest of the day was a blur but the next morning I go out in the garage and there is a little yellow truck in the dodge rams parking spot. At this time I panic, how am I going to afford the payments? No I didn't pay 10 over sticker but it was still more that I could afford. Well if you get a home equity loan you can spread it out over 15 years, you can keep the truck.
The early days of driving it were scary. Going down the freeway people would pull up behind your shoulder and feel the must honk the horn to give you a thumbs up. Made you jump every time.
One day I'm out driving on a back road by the stadium and I hear a voice. ‘Let's light them up”.
I look over and it was a redline. The first other SSR in the wild. He steps on it and off we go.