Chevy SSR Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an new 2004 from off the dealer lot here in the Chicago area and I'm wondering if I should invest in undercoating. :confused

I understand that rustrpoofing in generally no longer recommended as it may do more harm than good, but is undercoating a bad idea?

Thanks!

Michael
efxguy
2004 Slingshot

·
Registered
256 Posts
efxguy said:
I have an new 2004 from off the dealer lot here in the Chicago area and I'm wondering if I should invest in undercoating. :confused

I understand that rustrpoofing in generally no longer recommended as it may do more harm than good, but is undercoating a bad idea?

Thanks!

Michael
efxguy
2004 Slingshot

Undercoating is a bad idea. :nono

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! Why?

Thanks for your input.

I am curious as to why it is a bad idea?

I am pretty new to having a car like truck. Until now, all I've ever driver were military style SUVs (Jeep, Defender, Hummer H1) and I've had them all undercoated. It helped with noise, insuation and corrosion. And it kept the fasteners sealed against rust which is huge plus when working on a beast like those.

But the SSR, a diiferent animal for sure....

Regards,

Michael
efxguy
2004 Slingshot

·
Registered
96 Posts
Most anti-rust coatings and undercoatings actually ABSORB water! Z*bart has been infamous for the latex in their formula absorbing water. Some use neoprene (also absorbs water). This means that the water will be in proximity to your vehicle LONGER! These treatments also allow oxygen to permeate through.

Companies that put this junk on your vehicle show photos of water beading on the product to make people think that it waterproofs. It's BS marketing.

Jeff

efxguy said:
Thanks for your input.

I am curious as to why it is a bad idea? ]

·
Premium Member
9,382 Posts