Chevy SSR Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This might be a dumb question but well what is the long aluminium bar that goes from one side to the other in the trunk called? its the one that says maximum 75lbs and 30kg. Ever since i got my ssr, i have been getting this really loud and annoying squeky sound. after i got fed up, i opened up the trunk and thought maybe it might be the bar. so i completely took it off and am left with two loose metal things that are on both sides. I am new to trucks and i really dont know what that is or whats its real purpose. any help would be greatly appreciated since my local GM dealer doesnt even want to touch the car. (we dont get SSRs in this part of the world).

·
SSR Pit Crew
2004 UV
9,315 Posts
Is there a net to go along with it? Sounds like you have the cargo net kit. You can move the bar backward and forward along the side bed rails and hook the cargo net to it...it permits you to carry items without them flying all over the place. Hauling groceries is helpful with this although I use my net without the bar and have installed 2 softside bags as well.

·
Premium Member
620 Posts
artsmart said:
Is there a net to go along with it? Sounds like you have the cargo net kit. You can move the bar backward and forward along the side bed rails and hook the cargo net to it...it permits you to carry items without them flying all over the place. Hauling groceries is helpful with this although I use my net without the bar and have installed 2 softside bags as well.
:agree
Yep thats what that bar is for. The screw rings on the side and on the tail gate is for the net.

Is there any other accessories in your bed. Do you have the carpet or plastic liner. I found my plastic to be loose and had to tighten the nuts. Other then that you might have to go under the bed to see if anything rubbing.

·
Registered
2,063 Posts
Daij said:
(we dont get SSRs in this part of the world).