Chevy SSR Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
SSR Believer
2,495 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally set up my QuickJack and rolled under the R to check out things including an odd sound that I've been hearing for many months now. Thought the kid that welded in the new Magnaflow muffler might have missed the mark somewhere. However after listening closely to everything front to back and side-to-side I'm almost certain the odd noise is coming from the fuel tank. I can put my hand on it and feel a vibration when I hear the sound. Can't hear it in the cabin, but somewhat when the top is down and definitely when standing by the driver's door.

Searching here and on the Trailblazer forum I'm starting to think that it may be a failing fuel pump. :cautious: Others have posted that their TB has made that noise for years and years with no problems.:unsure:

It's been running great with no issues and no codes. Starts right up and so on. Has about 58K miles now. I looked though all of the previous owner's service records (since day one) and there's no reference to the pump ever being replaced.

Will you experts kindly have a listen and let me know what you think? Nothing to see, just the underside of the gas tank, but what you'll hear is a fairly normal idle, however periodically there's a high-pitched whining sound.

TIA!

·
Premium Member
2006 S/C Silver & 2006 Pac Blue 6spd
1,211 Posts
Good ear to hear the noise. The 05-06 sys is a dead head system, as opposed to 03-04 which has a return line.

Several questions, none entirely conclusive:
a) Have you borrowed a fuel pressure gauge and watched the needle?
b) Can you correlate the louder whir with any fluctuations in the needle on the fuel pressure gauge?
c) Fuel level according to the gas gauge?